Toggle the Widgetbar

Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal shortlisted for European Marine Engineering Award

The judging panel for the European Marine Engineering Awards has chosen Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal as one of three shortlisted entries in the Auxiliary Machinery category. The winner of the award is determined by online votes combined with the judges’ selections and will be awarded on the 13 April in Amsterdam.

Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal is an innovative new seal that can be fully serviced underwater without setting up a habitat. The product was officially launched at the end of 2015 and is the first product of its kind on the market, offering customers increased uptime and lifecycle efficiency. In addition to the inclusion of the inflatable seal that reduces the risk of environmental pollution, Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal was also designed to be compatible with Environmentally Acceptable Lubricants (EALS).

“We are very pleased to be on the shortlist for the European Marine Engineering Award. Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal is a ground-breaking solution that reduces costs as well as environmental risks, while increasing operational efficiency. We are confident that the voters, like the judges, will recognise its value to the ever-developing marine industry,” says Damian O’Toole, Director, Seals and Bearings from Wärtsilä.
Easy to retrofit, safe to use

Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal can be used to retrofit any other type of seal and is available for any vessel type. Retrofit in dry dock can be carried out without removing the propeller or shaft, for regular service and maintenance it is not necessary to drain oil from the stern tube for underwater overhaul. The Wärtsilä Sternguard In-water Serviceable Seal also includes an inflatable emergency seal and inner rope guard for enhanced protection.

The European Marine Engineering Awards are organised by Riviera Maritime Media. A panel of independent judges consisting of experts in different aspects of marine engineering have chosen the entries for the shortlists for each award, and the public can vote for their favourites online at the following address: The online vote is combined with the judges’ selection to determine the winner. The awards are presented at a gala dinner during the European Marine Engineering Conference in Amsterdam on 13th April.

Image: Wärtsilä diver at work (photo courtesy: Marine Works)


Source: Wärtsilä



Share this article

You May Also Like

+Toggle the Widgetbar

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.